Do I need sway bars?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

battaglia

Hello,

I am completely new to all of this, so please forgive any errors and my complete ignorance on the subject. I have a 2007 Jeep Commander 4.7L/V8. I am looking to purchase a 2006 Gulf Stream Amerilite. It is 21 feet with a dry weight of 3294lbs. The tongue weight is @350lbs. My vehicle is not currently tow equipped. I am taking it in to have everything installed. My question is.... Am I okay with a weight distribution hitch or do I need the weight distribution/sway bar hitch that the installer is recommending? I spoke with the gentleman I am puchasing the used travel trailer from and he says the trailer comes equipped with sway bars. Is this possible? I'd really appreciate any help.

Thank you!

The short answer is yes.  The first time you tow it in a crosswind or when a semi or bus passes you, you'll understand why.  If the seller is throwing it in, definitely use it.

The trailer will likely weight more than 4,000 lbs when loaded.  Make sure your Commander is able to pull it safely.  The weight distributing and anti-sway bars are usually purchased separately, so if they're included in the deal you're saving a few bucks. 

I'm with Gary.  You may be pushing the limits on the Commander.  Would be worth looking into what the tow rating is.  Find your Gross Combined Weight Rating on the Commander, and subtract out the weight of the vehicle, passengers, fuel, and luggage, and what's left is what you can safely tow. 

Trailers don't come with anti-sway bars or devices - the previous owner must have been thinking of something else.