Chord progressions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tom

Administrator
Last week our Music Director, an accomplished musician, casually mentioned the chord progression C Am F G7 as being used for many songs. I started playing it over and over and, although I don't read music, many songs "came to me" (by ear). Some examples, with a few variations:

Return to sender - Elvis - C Am F G7
Twenty Six Miles (across the sea) - The Four Preps - C Am F G7
Teenager In Love - Every Brothers - C Am F G7
All I Have To Do Is Dream - Everly Brothers - C Am F G7
Bye Bye Love - Everly Brothers - F C G7

With a few more variations/simplifications:

Walk Right Back - Everly Brothers - G D7 G7 Am
Amazing Grace (written by John Newton) - C C7 F G7
Love Me tender - Elvis - C D7 G7 E7 Am Fm

There are many hundreds (thousands?) of other songs out there using these simple chord progressions.

Guess what I was doing the last few days while waiting for Tech Support to complete various steps  ???

It is called the I vi IV V7 progression. There are hundreds of thousands of songs using the C Am F G7 progression. There are 12 different keys and that progression can be transposed into all 12 different keys. G Em C D7 is the same progression. There really are only a handful of different progressions that are commonly used.

Understood Tom, but I don't understand I vi IV V7 terminology, although I've seen it numerous times. I do understand ukulele chords, which I know have different fingering from guitar chords.