Question about salvage title on 5th wheel in Oregon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sam7988

Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum. I am looking to purchase a 5th wheel for living in full time.  When a 5th wheel has a salvage title, what are some things I need to look out for?  I am also new to fifth wheels in general, so any info is appreciated.  I haven't talked to the seller yet - what are some good questions to ask? 

Salvage title?  That means it was totaled by the insurance company and written off as junk.  I would not consider a salvage titled vehicle.

I'd certainly want to know why it was declared salvage.  Maybe it was in a flood and there is interior water damage.  You would probaby want to know so you can see how it affects you and you potential use of the trailer.

I bought a two year old Arctic Fox trailer with a salvage title in 2000.  It was inexpensive enough that I was able to pay cash, so financing was not an issue.

My daily driver car also has a salvage title from an accident while I was attending the Escapade in Goshen, Indiana two years ago.  I got rear-ended while stopped at a light and the insurance company decided to total the car instead of repairing it.  Basically they bought the car for it's undamaged Blue Book value, then they let me buy it back as-is with a salvage title for the scrap price (less than $200 in this case).  The is fully driveable and doesn't look that bad except the trunk lid has a slight upward bow on one side and the bumper is compressed slightly.  The unibody's crumple zone behind the right rear wheel telescoped about 1/2" which doesn't affect the car's handling or tracking but made it uneconomical to repair.