Welcome all your comments on living in an RV

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChrisHubner

I am new to this RV forum and at the moment a very long standing caravanner. Looking to escape the Rat Race, sell the house and live in an RV. I would appreciate any thoughts, ideas, considerations. Currently have class 1 heavy goods so licensing or size isn't an issue. Many thanks  Chris Hubner, Tamworth.UK

Is this plan for living in the UK or the USA?  Wll make a great deal of difference.  Not many RV's are designed or capable of staying warm in northern climate winters.  This does include the UK.  Unless you have an unlimited supply of heating fuel of some sort it can be very expensive to keep warm.  There are many many people who full time on this side of the ocean.  But probably 99% of those people travel to warm climates during the cold months.  Basically following the sun all year.  Those people find that living can be fragile or extragavant depending on how much money they want to spend.  Staying for a month or so I one place is a wonderful way to explore an area, see the sites and still have your own bed to sleep in.  Staying for a year or more in one place trying to save money?  Not sure it is possible.

We have been fulltiming in a Class A motorhome for over two years, and that makes us youngsters compared to many.

Our winters have gone to as low as 10 degrees Fahrenheit, but that is not comfortable for us for extended periods and consumes a great deal of energy, both electricity and propane.

Like many, we try to find moderate weather and move to accommodate that, going north and west from our native South in the summers and reversing for colder weather.