Crazy Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Akg980

Hello everyone, My name is Alex and I am very new to this industry. I want to learn a ton about basically everything. To be honest I want to build my own RV, but lets put that aside for now. My first basic questions are on how the RV's make it to consumers.

1) Do manufactures sell directly to dealerships, or is a distributor involved?
2) Can manufactures sell directly to consumers?
3) What rules and standards govern RV's?
4) Who is responsible for fixing items that I are either called back by a recall or just broken, like a fridge?

Lastly does anyone know a dealer who would be able to provide insight into the business, also is the a comprehensive book on the manufacture to consumer process? Thanks for your time, and sorry for all the crazy questions.

Hi Akg and welcome to The RV Forum. Interesting questions, and the responses are a mixed bag.

Many RV manufacturers sell only through dealers, and a few sell through their own sales force.

Rules/regulations/standards are relatively few. The RVIA http://www.rvia.org/?ESID=Standards comes the closest to a driving body for standards, but compliance is voluntary. RVIA also collaborates  with ANSI and NFPA on the development of standards such as http://www.nfpa.org/catalog/product.asp?pid=119211

Warranty repairs and recalls are often handled by a dealer or authorized repair shop, but a number of manufacturers have their own service centers which may or may not be convenient to get to.
Edit: Fixed typos.

Don't know if this info will help you, but in northern Indiana/southern Michigan there a bunch of surplus outlets that sell RV supplies.  Everything from frames to cabinetry and trim.  Just search sites for RV surplus parts and take your pick as needed.