New Stationary Full Timer Long Term Propane Tank Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChrisK

Hello all,
I looked to see if this question was answered, but as I am very new to RV's I do not
know all of the lingo to even type in the right terms to get my answer.
I am living in a 26 ft Class C Sunseeker ( On a Ford Chassis ) and I don't know how long
my 35lbs of propane will last, but I am sure it wont last long. My RV runs just fine, but as I am
not traveling at all, I would like to get around having to drive to a fill up station when its time to refill
my on board LP tank. I am on a ranch in Northern California ( Above Sacramento ). I use my propane for heat, water heater, and stovetop.
Whats my best plan of action here?
Do I try and find a local company that comes to fill me up?
Do I need to buy an "Extended Stay" adapter?
Do I just buy 2 small tanks and fill one up each week?
Thanks in advance for any help!
-Chris

You can get an Extend-a-Stay and have a local propane supplier install a 100 gallon tank on your site.  That's the easiest long term solution.  Call the local propane dealers to find one that will handle it for you.

Another option is the Extend-a-Stay and get a couple of large (40 lb) tanks and just fill them as needed.  Rotate them so you always have one full tank.  Keep your onboard tank full in case you run out on the portable tanks and can't get to the refill station quickly.

Chris:

You will probably be money ahead to drive every month to refill the propane so that the RV gets exercised. Almost all manufacturures reccommend driving every 30 days until all temps up up to normal operating. Also run the generator if you have one and add a stabilizer to your fuel.

Thank you both, those were great replies!