BEDROOM SLIDE HAS MIND OF IT'S OWN

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Director

I have an '05 Adventurer 35A with three slides. It's a hydraulic system. The bedroom seems to inch itself in over a few days. Then we can push the button and it goes fully back out and gives us back our floor space. Anyone know why it self retracts  v e r y  slowly, over and over again?  Okay, sounds like an old rock song.

Try tightening the valves located on or near the hydraulic pump/reservoir. They'll likely have a T-handle at the top which can be turned to tighten the valve.

that was my thought to tom but im no mechanic so i didnt want to make a dumb suggestions. my mechanic friend showed me where mine are in case my levelers or other hydraulics wouldnt operate. just open those valves and operate them manually. it might be bypassing a little if the valve isnt tight.

On our coach, the hydraulic pump is located in the rear engine compartment. The pump is usually inside the reservoir, which is a cylinder approx 4-5" in diameter and 8-10" long, laying on its side. Adjacent to the reservoir, or attached to it, there will be a manifold with the 3 valves attached. Each valve will have a small T-shaped handle sticking out the top, not a separate tool.

Hopefully, someone with that model or chassis will chime in.

Another thing to consider, Max, is air in the lines. I am assuming you have HWH slides, and they instruct that slides always be run out/in the full amount of travel and not to do partial extensions and retractions. When the slide is fully out, or in, continue to run the motor for a count of three to five to fully pressurize the system and force any trapped air out. Following these guidelines has greatly reduced our bedroom slide creep. It seldom happens anymore, but when it does we run it fully in and then back out and we are good again.