The prettiest bird in North America (IMHO)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Wendy said:
You finished your shower and THEN went and looked up the bird ? And you call yourself a birder.
Yep I did. You see I have never called myself a birdwatcher or a birder. I don't take binoculars with me into the field. I don't wear the birdwatcher uniform (light brown vest with lots of pockets). I don't carry a field guide with me. I have never called the rare bird hotline and I can't identify any birds just by their sounds. I am a bird photographer. Besides that I was smelly. :-\

Another of my favorite birds was the Toucan (Fruit Loops bird) I saw in the wild in Florida. "Birders" said I couldn't count it because it was an escapee from somewhere. I counted it anyway. And it sure was cute.

Best state for finding interesting birds was Florida. They have a lot of BIG birds that are easy to identify. Love Flamingos and Roseate Spoonbills.

Wendy said:
Another of my favorite birds was the Toucan (Fruit Loops bird) I saw in the wild in Florida. "Birders" said I couldn't count it because it was an escapee from somewhere. I counted it anyway. And it sure was cute.

Best state for finding interesting birds was Florida. They have a lot of BIG birds that are easy to identify. Love Flamingos and Roseate Spoonbills.
I agree that you should count it. Another reason why I don't call myself a birder is because I don't agree with a lot of their "rules". For example, if you see a Condor at the Grand Canyon you can't add it to your life list unless you happen to see one of the 10 Condors that were actually hatched in the wild. Seeing a captive breed bird in the wild doesn't count. Huh?

I am heading for Florida right now for a three month visit. I will be there in a week and I am so excited. I will be meeting a lot of forum members while I am there.

Beautiful shot Tom.