20amp versus 30amp

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

t6817rm

Besides being new to RV'ing I'm also new to message boards so hopefully I've done this right. Anyway my question regards campsites that offer 20amp and 30amp service. I'm pretty sure I can go to a campsite that offers either but I'm not positive. My popup (fleetwood colonial) came with a 3 pronged plug (30amp?); the seller also gave me an adapter that I can use to plug the trailer into my garage outlet so that I can, for example, start cooling the refrigerator before we leave. I'm presuming this adapter is a 30 to 20 amp adapter and that's what would allow me to go to either a 20amp or a 30amp campsite. Or am I all wet, which is something I certainly don't want to be regarding electricity. By the way, I do not have AC, but that would not preclude me from using a 30 amp site. Correct?

Thanks

Both 20A and 30A plugs are 3 prong, but the 30A is a different pin configuration.  A 20A outlet is what you have in your house, while a 30A outlet is larger.  If you need an adapter to use a 20A household outlet, then your trailer is wired for 30A.  You can use any campground 30A outlet, or 20A with the adapter.  I would recommend you use 30A whenever it's available so you don't have to worry about power management, which you may have to with a 20A service, even without A/C.

You are correct on the adaptor. 30Amp was standard in the industry for many years until the 50Amp came out on the bigger units a few years ago.? Yet they have 20 AMP service at the many CGs? for those that don't need the full service. Also for those that just want to keep the fridge running and only have 20AMP service at their driveway during storage.

t6817rm said: