what's hard on a "power steering box"?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DougJ

HI folks,

I ask this question as my 1990 Winnebago Elandan sits at a Ford dealership awaiting a rebuilt "power steering box"--the second one in two and a half years.

So, is it just bad luck with a poor rebuild of the last one installed?  Is it too much heat (as a result of the Banks PowerPack)?  Is it not changing the power steering fluid after two years? 

I'm no techie, but I'm still at a common sense loss as to what might be causing the problem?

Ciao,

Doug

Was is previously rebuilt by a Ford dealer, if so it should be warrantied.At least that's my interpitation of their policies.  If they fix it it's their baby.  Maybe I'm wrong but that's the understanding I have.  Check into it.  Sure wouldn't hurt to check on it.  I know of no reason a Steering gear should fail unless it's leaking badly, and you would certainly notice that. Sorry can't help you, I've never have one go out.

Hi Shayne,

Was it previously rebuilt by a Ford dealer, if so it should be warrantied.

No, it was rebuilt by a third party "reman" business.  Ford no longer makes this part, ie., you can't buy a new one, nor do they rebuild them (I don't think Ford is in the "reman" business), so you're stuck having to go the third party route.

I can say categorically that the steering box was not leaking in the weeks and months prior to its failure--that is, no sign of oil of any kind on the concrete driveway where the rig is parked.

But this failure behaviour does seem strange to me.

Ciao,

Doug

Doug,

Is it a recirculating ball type p.s. unit connected to a Pittman arm, or is it a hydraulic assist rack and pinion setup? How did it fail - suddenly stop working? Low assist? Could also be the p.s. pump over-pressure valve sticking open - was the output pressure checked?