Water Damage/Delamination/Wall Separation

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DownbytheRiver

I have been fulltiming for about 3 months in a 1991 Mallard Sprinter class C.  I bought the RV for $6000 and saw that there was some wear and tear, but after our recent storm Sandy, I now think I have a bigger problem than previously anticipated.

The wall connection between my rear wall and passenger side wall are become separated.  I tried to seal it with silicone and it seemed to hold fine, but the other day I noticed the crack increasing in size.  After the most recent storm, it is considerably worse. 

The wood within appears to be rotted to a fair extent.  My research on delamination is that I won?t be able to repair this myself.  The problem is I am recently divorced, homeless otherwise, and my budget it tight.  I?m trying to finish my doctorate and travel for what freelance work I have.  It keeps me moving and I need to keep moving.

I have some pics here.  How bad is this?  Can I do a patch job until I save more money?  Is the vehicle structurally unsound at this point?  Are my dreams of living fulltime crushed?

Any advice on how to survive this one would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• wall delam 1.jpg
    wall delam 1.jpg
    99.2 KB · Views: 156
  • wall delam 2.jpg
    wall delam 2.jpg
    99.8 KB · Views: 139
  • wall delam 3.jpg
    wall delam 3.jpg
    96 KB · Views: 131
You have a couple of problems. The first is that there is a leak somewhere above, allowing water to run down through that wall and rot the wooden structure. The second, of course, is the rot that has already taken place. Last is a means of re-attaching the siding.