SOLAR HELP!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
hi, i am extremely new to rv-ing, anything solar, batteries, inverters, etc etc etc. Please I am learning and may be frustrating to talk to but I need help.

First question? i have a class c jamboree.  there are two batteries under the hood? they both look like pretty standard batteries.. i attached images of them. my embarrassing question is? do i hook my solar up to these batteries? all other videos and website information i read about rv solar are installed to a beautiful battery house bank i am wondering if i need to install a separate battery bank other than these existing batteries??

thank you for any help! roehm

battery 1(left side under hood)
battery 2 (right side under hood)

also... are inverters necessary to installation... would i be missing out by not installing one?

Attachments

• photo copy.JPG
    photo copy.JPG
    118.2 KB · Views: 27
  • photo2.JPG
    photo2.JPG
    129 KB · Views: 21
The battery in your 1st pic appears to be your "House" battery. That's where you want to hook the solar panel.

Be sure that you clean the top of both batteries. Dirt will conduct electricity and run your batteries down prematurely....

Be sure to use an inline fuse like the one below, right at the battery:
http://www.amazon.com/In-line-ACT-Water-resistant-Fuse-Holder/dp/B0002KR88A/ref=sr_1_3?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1369154078&sr=1-3&keywords=atc+inline+fuse

Also be sure that your battery is topped up with "distilled water".

An inverter is not necessary but a solar controller is...... what size is the solar panel? Can you provide a link to what you have?