looking for campsite to work at

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kohvakc

Hi. Me and my wife and 2 kids are looking to workcamp this summer. We are leaving our old lives behind the beginning of June. Very nervous but excited. My kids are 14 and 15. Don't know what to expect. I just want to be able to have the last couple years with them home to be remember able.  I am a disabled VET. Any ideas or advice would be great.

Join workamper.com, both to find positions and learn about workamping from those who do it all the time

We did it for 7 years and enjoyed it immensely, but have met others who did nothing but complain about the work required. Guess they just wanted the free camping part!

The best advice I can give is to make sure you thoroughly understand what work is expected of you (hours and types of tasks) and what remuneration you will receive. Ask a lot questions of the campground owner - do not assume anything!  Also ask the campground about state and federal taxes on the remuneration - the tax rules have a lot of gray areas and depends a lot on how the campground defines the job. Some campgrounds will withhold taxes just like regular wages, while others do not and let you and the IRS sort it out.