to carry a pistol or not

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WineLuvrs

As this will be our inaugural West Coast road trip in our new motorhome. I do not intend to carry any pistols on my person, but I am considering including one or two in my initial packing for a 6 month visit to the West Coast. Our FBO will be Crescent City, CA and Brookings Harbor, OR. I anticipate carrying no more than 5K in cash plus the usual credit cards while staying in Good Sam type places. Our experience as adults has been limited to a few weeks of rental traveling in VA and NC.

I have some experience traveling with my parents as a teenager in their motorhome. Dad always kept at least one pistol at hand, both at home and on the road; he was old school and always carried a pocket knife too. We lived on a small ranch out in the sticks of Lake County, CA the closest neighbor was 3/4 mile away.

My research reveals various rules for each state, often with conflicting regulations regarding weapons on board. Some states treat a motorhome as a domicile while others a vehicle with different rules for each. So I thought I would seek the collective wisdom of the group.

I guess I have to ask why you feel you need to carry a weapon out west and not back east?  Is it because your afraid of the Indians?
You will find the crime rate here in the far west is about equal to what it is where ever you live.  As long as you are away from the major cities like San Francisco, Seattle, Portland or Los Angeles I see no reason to worry.  But if your paranoid about personal safety and you actually know how to safely use a gun i see no reason you cannot have one INSIDE your RV.

donn said:
But if your paranoid about personal safety and you actually know how to safely use a gun i see no reason you cannot have one INSIDE your RV.