Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SMT

Hello, I am a newbie and I am trying to plan a trip to Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone for the last week of August.  I will be driving up from Boulder CO in my 39 ft. Class A diesel rig.  Any recommendations on where to stay while visiting the parks would be greatly appreciated. 

Also - I am thinking of towing or trailering either a Jeep Wrangler 4x4 or GMC Yukon XL 4x4.  Any recommendations on which hitch/brake set up to go with? Or is it a better way to go by trailering a car?

Last Question - I have seen the hard copy of the Woodall's Good Sam RV campsite book, is there an online RV campsite resource that is available, either paid or free service that offers similar information?

Thanks!
Steve

Where you stay at those parks depends on what kind of sites you are looking for.  We stayed at Colter Bay which is inside Grand Teton NP and has full hookups, although there also is a no-hookup park there as well.  The equivalent FHU park in Yellowstone is Fishing Bridge.  There are plenty of commercial parks in Jackson WY and West Yellowstone.  You may not be able to get reservations at the places inside the national parks this late in the season.  They are usually 100% full.

As for online resources for finding campgrounds, it sounds as if you've never used http://www.rvparkreviews.com/ which is the largest peeer review campground site on the web with over 180,000 reviews posted online.  You can also access the Woodalls directory online.  We tend to rely almost exclusively on RVParkReviews; usually the average opinion people have of a particular CG is pretty accurate even though some of the individual reviews may be a bit off the mark.