1986 lazy daze motor home

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

misalisa

I am looking at a 1986 lazy daze motor home, it has 80k miles on it it's 22ft for $5250. it has A/c front and top and they say it runs cold. I am new to motor homes so I was wondering if anyone knows if this is a good deal and possibly what to look for when I go look at it.
http://medford.craigslist.org/rvs/4071447291.html  here is the web address.

Cool looking unit.....What chassis is it? Engine etc?....An older motorhome like that is going suck the gas.
When you look at it, look for signs of water damage (leaks)......Make sure the appliances etc work.....Many things to look for

Lazy Daze is an excellent brand, but any 1986 motorhome is a potential money pit. 80K is a fair bit of mileage for a 1986 gas engine, transmission and other chassis parts. But if wel cared for, should be OK. And yes, it will really suck gas. The mid-80's was not known for fuel economy, and a big heavy body makes it all the worse. Maybe 6 mpg? 8 if lucky?

The price is about what a decent older motorhome sells for if everything seems to work. There is an RV buyers checklist or two in the forum Library. Get a copy and check everything carefully. Maybe even hire a pro to help you out, or maybe you have a friend who has an RV?

We owned two Lazy Daze motorhomes in the 1980s, 22' and 30'.  They were very well made and we loved them both but kept moving up in size.  Our fuel was about 7 mpg. if I recall.  Tell us more about the engine and chassis.  Our 22' was a Dodge and the 30' was a Chevy 454.

ArdraF