A Question for the Snowbirds - revisited

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RogerE

I was just reading the thread "A question for the snowbirds" from several years ago and would really appreciate some up to date comments on the same topic. 

My DW and I have been laying plans to go full time for a couple of years.  We listed our house last week and got a contract from the first folks who looked at it.  Closing is planned for mid-December.  We will be purchasing a motorhome in Florida, and after working out the initial bugs would like to winter in Arizona or Southern California. 

This will probably mean showing up in AZ or CA in January or February of 2014 and looking for a big rig friendly site for the rest of the season.  What might we expect to find, with one end of the scale being "no problem finding a site" and the other end being "you could call dial a prayer and they would say you don't have a prayer".  Any and all thoughts will be appreciated.

I doubt you'll have any problem finding a site in AZ or CA, even in January or February.  But you may have to be flexible as to just where you'll park as some parks do fill up in the winter.

As I said on another string earlier today, most RV'rs out west seem to set up for a month at most, then move on.  For the most part, if one park is full, there is another equaly good just down the road a mile or 2.  That is so unlike what we experienced in Florida, that we were totally surprised.

Ed