VETS WHILE TRAVELING.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BLAKDUKE

We are not full-timing yet, but if or when we do, I am concerned about vets.  What do full-timers do when it comes time for your fur kids to have their annual check ups.  Do you travel back to home base and have your regular vet do the checkup or do you use a vet local to where you are at?

We are only half-timers, so generally get routine stuff done when at our home base. However, we have used vets in various places when we travel and have mostly found them to be helpful. Many vets are small businesses and the owner & staff are often intrigued by having an itinerant RVer as a client, so we feel that the smaller vets are a better bet than the bigger operations at places like Petsmart.

As a vet, I've got to say it is nice to be able to see someone that knows you and your pet however we certainly like seeing the ones that are just traveling through too.  Just be sure to carry all their records with you.  It can be very frustrating trying to know what they have had or may  need.  Also, have any previous/recent test results, this would really help in figuring out what may be going on with them.  We know they are part of  your family :)

Cheryl

Thanks Cheryl, good advice from a pro.

Just be sure to carry all their records with you.

Chris keeps all the doggie records in a rectangular Tupperware box. On one of our trips, she couldn't find that Tupperware box anywhere in the coach, and was convinced she'd left it at home, until ... I went in the fridge to get something and discovered the box. Chris uses an identical Tupperware box to store cheeses in the fridge at home; When we loaded the coach before the trip, she (or I) must have been on autopilot  ;D

I'm glad y'all brought up both the topics of vets and records while traveling.