EPDM Coatings
rvupgradestore.com Composet Products PO Box Zone
Over The Network Custom Yacht Interiors

Author Topic: Jim's internet connection  (Read 12837 times)

Tom

  • Administrator
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 44385
    • RV Forum web site
Jim's internet connection
« on: April 10, 2005, 06:06:00 PM »
Time for a sat dish Jim  :)
Tom.  Need help? Click the Help button in the toolbar above.

Ron

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 18087
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2005, 06:16:11 PM »
Hmmm, Tom is right there is something better. ;D ;D
Ron & Sam-home is where we park it. Currently located   HERE

Tom

  • Administrator
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 44385
    • RV Forum web site
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2005, 07:21:05 PM »
And I'll bet Jim could get one installed at Moab.
Tom.  Need help? Click the Help button in the toolbar above.

Ron

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 18087
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2005, 07:28:46 PM »
Probably could. Or he could get spoiled more.
Ron & Sam-home is where we park it. Currently located   HERE

Jim Dick

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 7675
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2005, 08:02:07 PM »
And I'll bet Jim could get one installed at Moab.

I've already had this conversation. I beginning to think the technology gods are against me and it won't make any difference what I have. It won't work!  >:( I find now that my computer switches the modem choice to the built in land line modem with no choice for the cellular modem but it's still in the configuration. I just turned off the computer and the correct modem was again selectable. I sure hate having to restart the computer each time I want to use the cell phone.

Jim

Titusville, Florida
U.S. Navy Veteran
2000 American Dream 40' DP
2012 GMC Terrain
2006 Suzuki Boulevard C50T Motorcycle
http://photo.net/photos/jimdick

Ron

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 18087
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2005, 08:10:31 PM »
That sounds like someting a Dell would do.  You don't have a Dell do you ??? ??? ??? ;D
Ron & Sam-home is where we park it. Currently located   HERE

Tom

  • Administrator
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 44385
    • RV Forum web site
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2005, 09:02:07 PM »
That was a low blow Ron  :)
Tom.  Need help? Click the Help button in the toolbar above.

Ron

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 18087
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2005, 09:07:18 PM »
Jim doesn't have one of those does he? Didn't mean it to be a low blow. :)
Ron & Sam-home is where we park it. Currently located   HERE

Karl

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 5154
  • No Brett; no sweat. A QB's not the whole team.
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2005, 07:24:47 AM »
Jim,
Go into Control Panel, Phone and Modem Options, Modems tab. You'll see that in the "Attached To" field your cell modem is listed as Not Present if it isn't connected to the phone and your built-in modem or pc card modem wille be "Attached To" some COM port. If you select it (click on it) and click on the Properties button, it will show "Use this device(enable)" in the device usage box near the bottom. Use the dropdown list and select "Do not use this device(disable)", then click "ok". Back in ontrol Panel, select Network Connections, right-click on the connection that shows your cell modem as Device Name, and select "Set As Default Connection" from the drop-down menu. Usually, the O.S. is pretty good at picking up newly installed devices (which your cell modem is if it wasn't connected when initially powering up), but seems to have trouble with cell modems in particular. Don't know why.
Karl (Cheesehead) Kolbus   Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "...holy cow ...what a ride!"

Jim Dick

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 7675
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2005, 04:43:42 AM »
That sounds like someting a Dell would do.  You don't have a Dell do you ??? ??? ??? ;D

I don't believe it's computer mfg specific. It's all Bill Gates' doing.

Jim

Titusville, Florida
U.S. Navy Veteran
2000 American Dream 40' DP
2012 GMC Terrain
2006 Suzuki Boulevard C50T Motorcycle
http://photo.net/photos/jimdick

Jim Dick

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 7675
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2005, 04:46:23 AM »
Jim,
Go into Control Panel, Phone and Modem Options, Modems tab. You'll see that in the "Attached To" field your cell modem is listed as Not Present if it isn't connected to the phone and your built-in modem or pc card modem wille be "Attached To" some COM port. If you select it (click on it) and click on the Properties button, it will show "Use this device(enable)" in the device usage box near the bottom. Use the dropdown list and select "Do not use this device(disable)", then click "ok". Back in ontrol Panel, select Network Connections, right-click on the connection that shows your cell modem as Device Name, and select "Set As Default Connection" from the drop-down menu. Usually, the O.S. is pretty good at picking up newly installed devices (which your cell modem is if it wasn't connected when initially powering up), but seems to have trouble with cell modems in particular. Don't know why.

I have disabled the internal modem. It keeps it from switching but there are still some problems with it dialing. Quite often it shows the modem either in use or not configured properly. It's been configured properly for two years!! Well, at least I'm on today. :)

Jim

Titusville, Florida
U.S. Navy Veteran
2000 American Dream 40' DP
2012 GMC Terrain
2006 Suzuki Boulevard C50T Motorcycle
http://photo.net/photos/jimdick

Karl

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 5154
  • No Brett; no sweat. A QB's not the whole team.
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #11 on: April 12, 2005, 10:37:44 AM »
Jim,
Typically a "modem already in use" error will occur when the modem was not shut down properly from a previous session or has a hardware problem; either of which will prevent the "on-hook" signal from being sent to the software, preventing reconnection. Do you have a different phone you can try for a day or two? Are there any new drivers available? Did you try re-installing the software? One or more of these may help pinpoint the problem.
Karl (Cheesehead) Kolbus   Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "...holy cow ...what a ride!"

Ron

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 18087
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2005, 02:05:25 PM »
That sounds like someting a Dell would do.  You don't have a Dell do you ??? ??? ??? ;D

I don't believe it's computer mfg specific. It's all Bill Gates' doing.
You mean you think Billy G would be responsible ??? ??? ???

I was kinda kidding since I don't know if you have a Dell or not.  Had someone in Brenda ask if I knew how to repair windows without uninstalling everything.  Apparently he had a problem with the modem dropping the call while he was online thru TDS and from what he indicated Dell had told him to remove and install all the software using their recovery disks.  He didn't really want to do that. Last I knew he was going to check with Dell.  We left before I got the REST of the story.
Ron & Sam-home is where we park it. Currently located   HERE

Jim Dick

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 7675
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2005, 11:19:21 PM »
That sounds like someting a Dell would do.  You don't have a Dell do you ??? ??? ??? ;D

I don't believe it's computer mfg specific. It's all Bill Gates' doing.
You mean you think Billy G would be responsible ??? ??? ???

I was kinda kidding since I don't know if you have a Dell or not.  Had someone in Brenda ask if I knew how to repair windows without uninstalling everything.  Apparently he had a problem with the modem dropping the call while he was online thru TDS and from what he indicated Dell had told him to remove and install all the software using their recovery disks.  He didn't really want to do that. Last I knew he was going to check with Dell.  We left before I got the REST of the story.

I do have a Dell but that isn't the problem. It turns out the USB port is damaged. Guess I've used it too often. The modem was the only thing giving me trouble but now my wireless mouse acts up on occasion. The second port seems to work fine. Just picked up a 7 port hub and hope to eliminate most of the plugging and unplugging of peripherals.


Jim

Titusville, Florida
U.S. Navy Veteran
2000 American Dream 40' DP
2012 GMC Terrain
2006 Suzuki Boulevard C50T Motorcycle
http://photo.net/photos/jimdick

Ron

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 18087
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2005, 11:25:55 PM »
Good idea Jim.  A hub is easier to replace than the USB port on the computer.
Ron & Sam-home is where we park it. Currently located   HERE

Jim Dick

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 7675
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #15 on: April 12, 2005, 11:29:24 PM »
Good idea Jim.  A hub is easier to replace than the USB port on the computer.

The problem now is where to mount it so it will be easily accessable to the peripherals. :) I will need to have the port repaired but it should help reduce further events. Still not sure why the modem keeps changing. I finally disabled the internal which stopped that problem.

Jim

Titusville, Florida
U.S. Navy Veteran
2000 American Dream 40' DP
2012 GMC Terrain
2006 Suzuki Boulevard C50T Motorcycle
http://photo.net/photos/jimdick

Ron

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 18087
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #16 on: April 12, 2005, 11:40:44 PM »
Hopefully to computer is still covered by warranty. 
Ron & Sam-home is where we park it. Currently located   HERE

Jim Dick

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 7675
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #17 on: April 13, 2005, 06:43:34 AM »
Hopefully to computer is still covered by warranty. 

I think it is. I took out the 3 year warranty that covers everything including dropping it. ;D

Jim

Titusville, Florida
U.S. Navy Veteran
2000 American Dream 40' DP
2012 GMC Terrain
2006 Suzuki Boulevard C50T Motorcycle
http://photo.net/photos/jimdick

Ron

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 18087
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #18 on: April 13, 2005, 01:29:44 PM »
That is good. Hope you have a back up copmputer while this one is in for repair.  They may just change out the motherboard.
Ron & Sam-home is where we park it. Currently located   HERE

Jim Dick

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 7675
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #19 on: April 14, 2005, 12:00:27 AM »
That is good. Hope you have a back up copmputer while this one is in for repair.  They may just change out the motherboard.


I've still got my original Toshiba running on Win95. Not sure how much I'll be able to do with that. ;D Might be time to think about a small tower but I don't know where I'd put it. Can't have Shaun build any more cabinets. I'm out of room! :)



Jim

Titusville, Florida
U.S. Navy Veteran
2000 American Dream 40' DP
2012 GMC Terrain
2006 Suzuki Boulevard C50T Motorcycle
http://photo.net/photos/jimdick

Ron

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 18087
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #20 on: April 14, 2005, 01:17:59 AM »
Windows 95 could be difficult to hook up wirelessly. Any chance you have that home service feature?
 
Ron & Sam-home is where we park it. Currently located   HERE

John From Detroit

  • ---
  • Posts: 19627
  • ^My New Home^
    • Diabetics Forum
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #21 on: April 14, 2005, 07:16:58 PM »
And I'll bet Jim could get one installed at Moab.

I've already had this conversation. I beginning to think the technology gods are against me and it won't make any difference what I have. It won't work!  >:( I find now that my computer switches the modem choice to the built in land line modem with no choice for the cellular modem but it's still in the configuration. I just turned off the computer and the correct modem was again selectable. I sure hate having to restart the computer each time I want to use the cell phone.



Jim... I know how you feel... I spent a goot part of 2 days getting this computer so it can do everythign I want it to do and I'm still not sure I've succeded... (I've one more feature to test)  I think I'll do that now... It still won't let me select any modem OTHER than the cell phone... Oh well... At least there is a work around that works around just fine)

But I now have the modem in com-1, and the serial port in com-2 and the cell phone modem in com-4 all dos accessable ports

And what is most important of all the map software can use com-2 too (I have a nice little Garmin that plugs into my software)
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business
My Home is where I park it.

Jim Dick

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 7675
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #22 on: April 14, 2005, 11:29:23 PM »
Windows 95 could be difficult to hook up wirelessly. Any chance you have that home service feature?
 

I never bothered with the home service since we're never home. :)

Jim

Titusville, Florida
U.S. Navy Veteran
2000 American Dream 40' DP
2012 GMC Terrain
2006 Suzuki Boulevard C50T Motorcycle
http://photo.net/photos/jimdick

Jim Dick

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 7675
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #23 on: April 14, 2005, 11:31:34 PM »
John,

Sorry to hear you're having similar problems to mine. :'( It certainly can be frustrating. Just now I had to try three times to send a reply as the connection was busy doing something else. Of course it never tells you what it's doing. Hope you get your problems resolved soon.

Jim

Titusville, Florida
U.S. Navy Veteran
2000 American Dream 40' DP
2012 GMC Terrain
2006 Suzuki Boulevard C50T Motorcycle
http://photo.net/photos/jimdick

Karl

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 5154
  • No Brett; no sweat. A QB's not the whole team.
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #24 on: April 15, 2005, 06:31:10 AM »
Jim,

As I said previously, you may have a hardware problem with the modem. Can't tell you how many modems I've replaced for customers that were bad and exhibited the same problems you're talking about. The modem diagnostics you run from Control Panel are not always accurate. Try an external modem thru the serial port. If that works, replace your modem.
Karl (Cheesehead) Kolbus   Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "...holy cow ...what a ride!"

Jim Dick

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 7675
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #25 on: April 16, 2005, 11:51:08 AM »
Jim,

As I said previously, you may have a hardware problem with the modem. Can't tell you how many modems I've replaced for customers that were bad and exhibited the same problems you're talking about. The modem diagnostics you run from Control Panel are not always accurate. Try an external modem thru the serial port. If that works, replace your modem.

Karl,

Not sure if you saw my subsequent posts somewhere but it's the USB port that's defective. The center insulator is gone!! I am now working on the other port. Still not sure why it switched modems but I have the internal turned off. Won't need it until I get to CT.

Jim

Titusville, Florida
U.S. Navy Veteran
2000 American Dream 40' DP
2012 GMC Terrain
2006 Suzuki Boulevard C50T Motorcycle
http://photo.net/photos/jimdick

Karl

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 5154
  • No Brett; no sweat. A QB's not the whole team.
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #26 on: April 18, 2005, 10:22:06 AM »
Jim,
Wow! That's a first. Never heard about anyone breaking the insulator before :-\. Re USB: Windows tends to remember what device was connected to which USB port, so it may be necessary to uninstall/reinstall a device on the 'new' port to get it to work. Ran into exactly that problem with Wally's USB wireless adapter; worked fine when I tried it, but wouldn't when he got it back home. He was plugging it into a different port. Simple as that.
Karl (Cheesehead) Kolbus   Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "...holy cow ...what a ride!"

Ned

  • Former Staff
  • ---
  • Posts: 25574
  • Ned and Lorna are former full time RVers
    • Have you seen Rolling Stock?
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #27 on: April 18, 2005, 10:48:48 AM »
Many USB cables are assigned a COM port by Windows and if you plug the cable into a different port, it installs ok as the drivers are present, but it's assigned a different COM port.  Just changing the port number in the application program usually takes care of that.
-- Ned -- Fulltimer 1997-2013
1997 Holiday Rambler Endeavor LE
2007 GMC Canyon

Jim Dick

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 7675
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #28 on: April 19, 2005, 07:39:09 AM »
Jim,
Wow! That's a first. Never heard about anyone breaking the insulator before :-\. Re USB: Windows tends to remember what device was connected to which USB port, so it may be necessary to uninstall/reinstall a device on the 'new' port to get it to work. Ran into exactly that problem with Wally's USB wireless adapter; worked fine when I tried it, but wouldn't when he got it back home. He was plugging it into a different port. Simple as that.

Karl,

I've run into the problem before where windows remembered a unit was plugged into the first port and I inadvertently plugged it into the second. Went through the install procedure again. I think the position of the ports and the fact I use a laptop as a laptop is what caused the insulator to break. Must have put too much pressure on the connecting plug when it was in my lap.

Jim

Titusville, Florida
U.S. Navy Veteran
2000 American Dream 40' DP
2012 GMC Terrain
2006 Suzuki Boulevard C50T Motorcycle
http://photo.net/photos/jimdick

Jim Godward

  • ---
  • Posts: 5734
Re: Jim's internet connection
« Reply #29 on: April 19, 2005, 09:55:49 PM »
The center insulator is gone!! I am now working on the other port.

Jim,

If you ae real handy witha soldering iron, a new USB port to mount on a circuit board is about $!.00   VBG

Jim
Jim
Jim & Pat Godward
AC7PO & KD7ZDM
Hillsboro, Oregon

 

Hosted by Over The Network