"RVing with pets"? HAHAHAHA!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ADK Dave

Hi all.  I'm new to RVing and to this forum.  While scanning it, I found this category and it made me laugh out loud.

For the past several years, my wife and I cruised down the east coast in our trawler, along with two pit bulls.  Most people aren't sure what a pit bull actually looks like, so we usually say that they're mutts.  In Georgia, we told folks they were Georgia Bulldogs.

Breed discrimination is usually by those who aren't dog lovers, and believe media hype.  We rarely had issues at marinas where we stayed.  Quite honestly, if I was inquiring of an RV park that didn't allow pit bulls or other breeds, I wouldn't want to stay there anyway.

Right now, we're heading south in our caravan.  I'm driving the RV, along with our daughter, two pit bulls, and two cats.  My wife is driving the car with our German Shorthaired Pointer, towing her horse in his trailer.  We're staying at "horse hotels", which are farms and stables that will board your horse and let you plug into an outlet in the barn.  Can you imagine if I pulled this convoy into a fancy RV park with dog restrictions?    ;D

The problem with Pit Bulls is bad owners..  Bad owners buy them because they look mean and people have been told they are mean, then the bad owner teaches them to be mean.

But are they, by nature mean.. Generally no (Though there is such a thing as a defective dog or a sick dog to be more accurate).. usually if you encounter a mean dog it is either MEAN owner...

Or MEAN brats

I have seen some very nice dogs driven to self defense on occasion.