Church hopping observations

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GR 'Scott' Cundiff

As a retired pastor I've had a lot of fun visiting various congregations in our travels.  I've just done a blog entry of my observations.  Even if you haven't been in the habit of attending churches in the past, you may find that attending as a traveling RVer adds an enjoyable and important dimension to your life.  You'll find my thoughts on my blog (link in signature line).

I always kinda wondered about that practice of visiting different churches while on the road.  Our home church is such a family to us (even with average attendance of 6000 each week!) that I always hated missing services when camping.

We've never been extended RV'ers but I often would notice church welcome signs at some campground entrances.  I remember when small towns often had those church signs also, along with welcome messages from local groups like Jaycees and Shriner's.

DW and I spent a year looking for a new church closer to home after being so involved in ministry that we were putting 120 miles/week on the car commuting to and from church.  We noticed that in most churches we were mostly ignored by the regulars, except for the pastors, who practically leapt over the pews to greet us. They did seem particularly interested that we were looking for a new local church.  Human nature, I guess.

Later we moved to another town and started our church hunt all over again.  The first church we visited was friendly; the pastor preached about building God's kingdom; and the pastor's wife suggested we visit other churches in town, "So that you end up where God wants you to be." We joined up about a month later.  We've been members for three years now, and the church still has a kingdom view. And once again, we are very involved in ministry, but now we are 1.5 miles from church, instead of 15 miles!