Whats a good fuel efficient motor home under 10K?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jmar896

Hi
Im new to RV's and Ive been looking at them for the past few weeks getting ready to buy. I am looking for a cheap one (Under 10K defiantly, prime is 5-7K) thats decent on fuel economy. Ive looked at some Lesharos (they get 22MPG, im looking for better than 13MPG) but there small and odd, and hard to get parts for. If you guys have a recommendation please let me know, Class doesn't matter, If it seats 6 thats great. I dont want to go past 30ft really though too. Thanks

Sounds to me like you are really shooting for the moon.
Under 10K is not going to get you much
Good fuel mileage and motorhomes don't really belong in the same sentence
Seats 6 also means a larger unit.

Good luck on your quest

jmar896:

Ignore these guys.  You probably want to get something made in the 80's through 90's built on a toyota p/u frame.  My dad had an old Chinook built on a 79 toyota frame, put over 150,000 miles on it and it probably got around 14MPG.  Be aware that these MH's do not have a lot of power (slow crawl uphills).

Thanks for the help. I might look at an areo cruiser on craigslist w/ gear vendors over drive that he says gets 14MPG, Ill see how that goes  :) Thanks
Just saw your reply Moebelly, ill take a look at those, as long as i can go 60 its not gonna kill me, the lesharo has awful power, and if i needed to live with it i would.

80s or 90s is fine with me, i dont care

You can find stuff in your price range under 30 feet that will seat 6, and sleep 6. But fantastic gas mileage with all that too... in your price range is not going to happen in all honesty.

Getting great gas mileage is going to be ridiculously hard in that price range assuming you want to find a motorhome that is functional in all other aspects.