Jeep preparations

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
O

Oscar Mike

I am a novice Four-Wheeler and as such I have been keeping up in this Forum and in the Jeep Forum about some potential modifications/equipment/supplies needed so that I can be as prepare for Moab. In another thread one of the more experienced off-roaders gave this list as basic necessities:
First aid kit
Tools
Spare fluids (brake, oil, transmission/power steering fluid, etc.)
Gloves
Cooler for food and water (plenty of water - stay hydrated)
Some kind of GPS
Tire repair kit

As I prepare for the Moab Rally a lot of questions come to mind, I am OCD in that regard since I have very limited off-roading experience. I am not completely inexperienced either...I fit somewhere between knowing enough just to be dangerous, and having just enough sense to know better...if you know what I mean  ;). My Jeep is basically a stock 2005 Wrangler X

1. Minimum tire size...I run 33s now.
2. Body Armor minimum...I have stock bumpers, and NO Rocker Armor
3. 9500# winch and recovery straps
4. 4-ton bottle jack and 16"sq jack pad

What I would like to do in preparation for Moab:
1. Poison Spyder Rocker Armor $1,500.00
2. Wilderness Racks G2 Series Rear Bumper and Swing Away System with rack(s) $1,500.00
3. Poison Spyder G2 Series Front Bumper $755.00

I can already see the hand writing on the wall...an upset wife at the prospect of me building another Jeep (I've done one CJ5 on a body off build). And so it begins...again  ;D.

John,

I'm hoping you have a CB radio to keep in contact with your fellow off roaders as you travel on those trails.

Nothing like the ability to say to the guy in front of you, " Hey could you hold up for a minute, or hey could you spot me  over this obstacle, or hey could  you stop for a  10-100, or  hey look at that  blooming cactus on the right."