What is this depreciation thing you speak of?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brett K

Hi all! newbie here and we are searching for our first camper. I hear a lot of advice to buy slightly used and let someone else take the hit of 40% depreciation in the first few years. I think that is an awesome plan for us. However, it is not my experience. I see 2005-2008 mid-level 26 ft campers on dealer lots for 10-15k, when I was hoping to find a 2010 for 10-12k. Frustrating!

Don't offer a dealer  12k for a 2010 unless you really want to buy it.  Most will jump on it.

This is good to know! My target price is 80-90% of low nada retail. The dealer we visited on Saturday was a joke. He had one with a price a few thousand more than one next to it which was brand new. We didn't look too seriously after that. I plan on checking out a camper soon with pricing more in-line with our expectations. They have a lightly used 2013 Gulf Stream Conquest 255bhs on their site for 12,900. I want to see how much room is left in that price because our budget is 10-11k before taxes.

Gary RV Roamer said:
You are more likely to get what you seek from a private seller.

Although some of them seem to think their rigs are made of gold too.....Sometimes you have to wait until they've had it for sale for 6 months and reality has finally crept in. 

We have noticed that the depreciation factor has a number details.

I bought our first RV in 1961, Since then I have bought 4 others, the last one just 3 years ago. Each time I upgraded I traded our used RV in to a dealer for the new one. The shortest time that I owned any RV (except the one we now own) was 5 years. Even that one, a Conquest 5th Wheel that I traded for a JayCO, after the five years brought $350 more on the trade than I paid for it new.