Planning a camping trip for 2017 - obsessed already!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BigSkyTrailerGuy

The light show of the decade will happen in August 2017 all across the US - the great 2017 Total Solar Eclipse of the sun -  8) and I want one of the front row seats!  I'm already planning my 2 hour drive south to claim a piece of land exactly on the line of totality.

It's a little sick to be this obsessed over something that'll last for 2 mins and 20 seconds!  Once in a lifetime!

Anyone else planning?  After all, 2017 will be here in minutes.

Hi BigSkyTrailerGuy,

Nice ring to your name! I'm an amateur astronomer and haven't given much thought about that total solar eclipse yet but perhaps I should. Three is nothing like the excitement of a total eclipse of the Sun. I attended the one in Canada in 1972. We got clouded out (normal thing that happens to astronomers) but it cleared up for the diamond ring. The Annular eclipse that came through the midwest a few year back now, was right through my backyard, making it easy to view. I'll be retired by then so there shouldn't be anything stopping me.

Usually there are areas (one end of the line or the other) that have the most eclipse times. May I ask where you are located at and where you are going to view? I'm in north central Indiana. Will drive a ways for the best view.

Glad to see your post here. See also: http://www.rvforum.net/SMF_forum/index.php?topic=3384.0  (where we have talked a little on astronomy)

Hi, CamperAL -  I'm in Montana, and I'll have to get down to either Rigby Idaho area or on the east side of the Tetons around Casper.

Check out this site for lots of juicy info:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solar_eclipse_of_August_21,_2017
or google map:  https://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msid=217459713149490209639.00046292e55ac361fc966&msa=0&dg=feature