How long can black water tank go until dumping?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mullethead

I'm new to this "black water" thing and have been doing a lot of reading on this forum to make sure I do it right.  Lots of good info.  The consensus seems to be LOTS of water to break down the contents.  I want to get to that 3/4 full mark without having to add water through the toilet,  But how long can I go between dumps?  A few days, a week, a month?  I figured my nose would probably be a good gauge, but I want to know what the RV community has to say.

Any preferred additives.  Saw a read on "RV Boss" with some raves.  Anything out there that will be OK in a home septic system?  I may have to pop the lid on the tank at home, and dump a load at times :)

It depends on the size of the holding tank as well as flushing procedures.  Our 40 gallon tank can go for up to 10 days between dumps with 2 of us, and 2 weeks if I'm alone.  We don't use an excessive amount of water and have never had any problems with the tank in over 16 years of full time usage.

I keep my RV at a semi permanent site during the summer so the black water and the gray water doesn't  get drained  until they close to 3/4 full.  At that point I use a blue boy to drain the tanks or I'll hook up and go someplace to drain them.
How long depends upon the usage. A weekend with several of people can fill the tanks, especially the gray water , with shower and dishes. 

Cracking open your septic tank to dump will take your breath away. :eek:

Do you have a clean out between the house and tank that you could use? 

There are pumps that you can use that pump the sewage through a water hose. There is also
a kit the uses the water flow of a hose to drain the tank.

As far and additives, the only thing I use is "septic safe" toilet paper.