New RV'er with cold weather question (s)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

billk42

Hi all,  Newbie here,  I live in Maryland and it does get cold here, not bitter, but cold.  I would like to use our RV for a bit longer into the fall season and I am wondering at what point I will have to worry about the freezing weather being a threat to my coach?  I doubt we will camp in the dead of winter, but still could hit freezing temps. And I plan to have it winterized by December, but i would like to take it out on the road in October at least.  We leave it in our driveway, and it stays hooked up to electricity full time right now. 

The most vulnerable components to freeze damage are the toilet valve, the water pump and filter assembly and the refrigerator icemaket solenoid valve.

That being said, any exposed plumbing under the coach needs to be protected and cabinet doors in the coach should be left open with the furnace running.  Condensation in the coach increases as outdoor temps drop at night and incresae in daytime.

Liquids should be removed from basement compartments and stored inside where the furnace is running.

A hour or two of barely below-freezing temps are not likely to other anything, especialy if the interior of the rig is heated a bit.  We get occasional below freezing temps in north Florida in January and I just leave the thermostat in the motorhome set to 45 degrees.

If your drain valves are in an enclosed compartment, you can put  a 60-75 watt light bulb in there to make sure it stays above freezing.  A 15W bulb will work for the back side of the refrigerator where the ice maker water line typically runs (may have to block up the refer vents a bit, though).

Bill,

I'm in Georgia - North Ga.