rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Fridge Defend
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: front or rear mounted motorcycle carrier?  (Read 3876 times)

jcross312

• ---
front or rear mounted motorcycle carrier?
« on: April 10, 2014, 09:11:10 PM »
Hello everybody! I just installed a tow bar on my accord and im ready to roll. Now my next project is making it possible to also tow a 230 lb motorcycle. I like the idea of a rear mounted cycle carrier with a 2" receiver hitch BEHIND it to make it possible to also tow a car or my jetski. The other option is to install a front mounted cycle carrier. Any advice would be greatly appreciated as im very new to all of this.  This is on a 98 windsport 34' with the 7.5 ford gas engine btw.

Tom

• Administrator
  • ---
  • Celebrating 25 years of The RV Forum online.
    • RV Forum web site
Re: front or rear mounted motorcycle carrier?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2014, 04:41:44 AM »
Here's one setup of a motorcycle lift and hitch. However, this was on a diesel chassis, and  required additional bracing/reinforcement.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2014, 04:43:20 AM by Tom »
Tom.  Need help? Click the Help button in the toolbar above.

jcross312

• ---
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2014, 07:20:29 AM »
Thanks alot Tom! That answers my question about the possibility of a rear mount with a hitch. Mine doesn't necessarily have to be that heavy duty. My old 98 gas burner may not be capable of carrying motorcycle that big anyway. My bike is only 230 lbs. I may contact the company that makes that lift to see what they have. Ive also considered having a custom carrier fabricated. Thanks again.

Jeff

• Forum Staff
  • ---
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2014, 11:06:43 AM »
If you have a 35' or longer coach you probably have a long rear extension. Putting a bike plus the weight of a mount that far back will really affect the weights on the front and rear axles and could lead to handling issues.

jcross312

• ---