You big trailer guys have stones!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BigSkyTrailerGuy

I was just reading another post about the guy pulling a 27' with a Toyota Forerunner.

I'm apparently becoming a coward in these, my "dessert years"... (and I'm not even 60 yet!) but even pulling a light 16" hybrid with my 97 Tahoe keeps me  "white-knuckling" my way down the highway.  While I've had no bad experiences, I'm inherently cautious I guess.  Overly so?  I just want to get my bride and me to the lake safely, and in a semi-relaxed state.

Then a pickup, pulling a 5th wheel which in turn is pulling a ski boat flashes by me in the fast lane doing 77.

In my book, you 25'+ trailer-hauling guys have stones. 

Sorry, not much point to this post, I guess.

I tow a 30' TT which grosses at just under 8000 lbs.  I towed it for 2 years with a 1989 F250 gas.  While it did the job and was technically within specs, I just bought a 2014 Ram 2500 Cummins, if that tells you anything.  I barely know it's back there with the new truck.  I'm a big believer in truck overkill when towing a conventional trailer.  Staying at 55 mph is a good idea with any trailer....tires are only rated to 65, and maxing them out is what leads to blowouts.

With either truck, I get zero sway.  Most handling issues are due to improper set up and loading.  It can get hairy with serious cross winds, but anything over 20 MPH and I hunker down and wait it out.  My last trailer was a fifth wheel and it did tow better, but a properly set up TT behind a stout tow vehicle will tow just fine too.

From personal experience, if you have the proper tool for the job it is far less likely you will get hurt using that tool.
There are so many people who for some reason try to tow at or over the maximum with the absolute bare minimum vehicle, and wonder why they are loosing their hair.