Electric water heating element

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AKWest89

So I'm new to the TT lifestyle and recently bought a 2007 Brookside fifth wheel. It has a gas/electric water heater and I'm attempting to replace the heating element on the opposite end of the tank from the access panel, but I seem to have run into a wall-literally. :-\ The water heater is mounted under the frame of the upper section of the trailer with a handy cabinet built around it. However, the tank has been framed around to make a shelf and there seems to be no access to the rear of the tank. There also isn't access under the trailer. Any ideas as to how I should go about replacing the element??? I'm at a loss so any help is greatly appreciated.

That's a fairly common dilemma. You may have to pull the water heater out to do it. It should be removable from the outside OK, but you may still have difficulty detaching the wires and plumbing from the backside.

Are you sure you need a heater element? They don't often fail unless it was turned on with no water in the tank.

Gary RV Roamer said:
They don't often fail unless it was turned on with no water in the tank.

Gary,
Do you know if the element will burn out instantly or will it take a few minutes if the tank is empty?

Not quite instant, but will overheat and self destruct pretty quick.  I would think anymore than 30 seconds and it will be done