Tires off the ground bad?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

79 Corsair

Hi!

I very recently became the owner of a 1979 Corsair 23' camper trailer. I am new to the world of no-tent camping and need your advice. I am one of the managers for a music festival and because of the (sometimes) awkward lay outs of a festival have been put into a spot of which I have little control over. The issue is this; In order to be level, my door side wheels are completely off the ground. Is this ok? They are probably a good inch and a half to two inches away from the pavement to achieve true level. Thanks for any advice any of you can share!

People carry leveling boards for such situations.  You put them where your tires will be and drive up onto them.  It's better to have your tires on something rather than in air.  You don't want to torque the frame of your RV.  Also, I look at it as a safety issue.  What would happen if the levelers malfunctioned?  Could the RV roll?  Could anyone be injured.  It's always better to play it safe and avoid either mechanical issues like torque or safety-related problems.

ArdraF

I posted a similar question about 16 months ago. To paraphrase the comment of one of the forum leaders to my question --- nothing good can ever happen when your tires are not touching the ground. That said, remember that your emergency brakes only lock the rear tires so it's very important that they always contact the ground or be supported by levelers to establish a solid base that won't roll. And, if you support one tire on the drivers side, make sure you support the other as well.

In addition, the tire levelers, whether wood or some other material, needs to be long and wide enough to support the full surface area of each tire, whether it be singles or duals.