Snowbird Report

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gordon Groff

Sorry I've been away from the forum for so long.  It's been a busy time for us and it's taking a while for me to put on my RV'in hat again.  :)

Anyway, as background, I've been hanging around this forum for many years and based on much of what I learned here, as well as RV experiences we have had over the years, we bought a new Tiffin Allegro 35QBA in 2010 in preparation for the big day when I could kiss my job goodbye and hit the road.  It finally happened last fall!  So, on Jan 1, we headed out for our First Snowbird Trip: A 3 month expedition to Florida and the Gulf Coast.

Our goal was to explore the gulf coast and we did this staying at 19 campgrounds, 1 - 2 week, 4 - 1 week, 9 - 4 night, 5 - 2 night.  This had us spending our longer stays in the deep south  (Keys, Fort Myers) during the coldest part of winter, then stepping around the upper gulf in March, ending up in Corpus Christi, TX (Mustang Island) as our last "destination" stop.

First - let me say that we LOVED it!  While we have had extensive RV experience as the kids were growing up, my wife and I were unsure if we'd enjoy the extended lifestyle with just us and the dog.  That question has been put to rest.  YES!

Some learnings and observations:

While we greatly enjoyed and found something really interesting to explore at every place we visited, now that we've taken the whole smorgasbord, the next time we winter in the southeast, we'll go for extended stays at our favorite spots with less moving around.  It was interesting to note that the pattern we noticed for most snowbirds is that many find "their" place in the sun and stay there.  This creates a winter family at those campgrounds where the folks know each other and meet together every winter.  Very cool communities!