1997 Skamper electrical

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

matt.davalynn

Hey all, I recently bought a 1997 skamper model 17a I believe. The previous owner (my father in law) stated everything worked on it 5 years ago when he parked it.  I am completely new to campers, have thought about getting something for years now.  I got a good deal on it and other than a few things it seems in pretty good condition.  I have replaced the tires, battery and I am putting new utility covers on it.  The unit Includes AC (coleman), propane stove, 3 way refrigerator, My father in law told me I was supposed to hook the 110 electrical cord into a outlet inside the camper and run the large black (i believe 30A) cable from the converter box to an outlet.  I ordered a 30A to normal 110 converter and plugged it in. As soon as I do this the breaker in the house flips.  If I unplug the Ac unit and reset the breaker in the house it does not flip.  Anybody have any ideas?  Unfortunately I'm at work and haven't had time to take it apart yet.    Also, if anyone has any knowlege about pop up campers/ camping with one in general I would be glad to get that too.  Thanks in advance!

Matt

My father in law told me I was supposed to hook the 110 electrical cord into a outlet inside the camper...

Is this the cord for the a/c we are talking about?  Not sure what is being plugged into this outlet.

It may be the a/c unit has seized up from sitting so long. Can you remove the outside cover and turn the fan by hand?

Yes Gary,  that is what I was meaning.  Had the whole post written out betier the first time and had to re post. And I will try moving the fan!

Are you saying your A/C has it's own power cord?  Actually this does not matter.

From the sounds of it the breaker in the  house is likely a 15 amp.. (Might be a 20 but more likely a 15)