Next motorhome gas or diesel?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
(QUOTE) "I'm different I bought ours because of the 8.3 cummins and allison tranny, wife bought it because of the layout and no slides. The only other engine I would have settled for is the Cat or 8.1 Chevy gasser. We dont do fords"

Will, I know exactly how you feel. My Dad owned GM dealerships for many years, all over the Pacific Northwest (and I grew up working at them). If there would have been a choice of engines when we bought the Ford-equipped coach, I probably would have opted for one with a Chevy engine - but in all honesty, in more than 12 years, that Ford V-10 never caused us ANY trouble at all. I have no experience with the Chevy 8.1, and I'm quite sure it's a great RV engine, but if anyone were to ask my opinion of the Ford V-10, I'd have to say that I was very impressed with its reliability and power in our 32 foot Class A.

Kev

I wonder why they never build an RV's like an aircraft with weight savings in mind.
In a high end RV not one single thought is ever given to weight sayings.

Everything in a high end Motorhome is all about solid hard wood glass faced cabinets, with solid ceramic tile floors and counters ,solid glass shower doors, solid wood pocket doors, with solid brass hinges, and if begins to weigh too much, ...just get a bigger motor and chassis . ...they're up to over 600 horsepower and over 48k lbs now.

I saw a show on TV about building corporate jet interiors, Everything looked just as beautiful inside them as a Newell coach does but it was all done with weight in mind. Everything was covered with beautiful bookmarked curved burlwood veneer over Carbon fiber and aluminum foam core panels.

You can't say it's because an aircraft doesn't get bounced around like a RV does either.