tow capacity/fifth wheels

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

diver110

I am new to rving, don't own one yet.  I sort of got the idea of why people like them after driving around the country in a car last summer.  The hotel thing got old, and could be expensive.  Of course, buying an rv ain't exactly cheap either.  Still, looking forward to retiring and maybe full-timing, if I am on my own I would lean to a fifth wheel and a truck to avoid having to tow a car (though I am told it is not that big of a deal).

I would tend to want to err toward a smaller fifth wheel and smaller truck.  Is there anywhere I can look up truck tow capacities and matching fifth wheels?  I did a search of this cite, but did not find anything.  Thanks!

We use the Trailer Life Magazine's tow rating tables on there website at http://www.trailerlife.com/output.cfm?id=42175  (Click on the URL for a look see.)

Trailer weights a bit harder to come by.  The number you want is the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the trailer.  This can come from two sources.  One way, for units you see on a dealer's lot, is the DOT plate usually found on the driver-side front of the trailer.  The other way, is on a manufacturer's website or in their brochures.  There it can be found either a GVWR number or as the sum of the Dry Weight plus Carrying Capacity. 

We like to allow a safety factor of 10% in the tow ratings.  If you plan on towing in the mountain or Pacific west, allow 20% to account for high altitudes and long, long grades  altho turbo diesel trucks can cut that back to the original 10%.

With 5th Wheel trailer, you should look for nothing less than a F250 or 2500 truck.  The F150s and 1500s are too light for most all 5ers.