I'm a newbie or just stupid...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

woodyacres17

This is my second trip with my TT.  We only went a few miles from home to a neighbors vacant land this time.  We camped over the weekend, with no electric so I used my generator.  Well, I brought the generator home on Sunday.  Went back last night to bring the "camp wagon" (as my 4 yr old calls it) home and found the battery dead.  We left the fridge running as we still had some food in there.  I thought, no biggie as I started loading it up.  Well, I had to hand crank the tongue jack as there was not enough power.  Then when it came to the slides, I didn't want to hand crank those, so I pulled my truck battery and jumped it.  Put my battery back in the truck and then went to pull away and realized the trailer wasn't plugged in.  I plugged it in and saw the lights on the trailer brighten up.  Then it dawned on me!!!  I should have had the truck plugged in and I would have had power to pull in the slides.  Doh!

shouldn't have killed the battery that fast..

altho I had this on my new FW as well.. hooked up the truck and then the slides would work.
haven't seen it since..

I bet you ran the fridge on 12V DC operation instead of propane. That would kill the batteries really fast. On propane I can run up to 2 weeks without a generator or a solar panel.

Yes I would of just gotten close to the hitch and plugged in being the truck must charge the trailer batteries for the function of the break away brake pin.