New Mexico fly fishing- Red River or San Juan, Navajo Lake?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

viperfam4

Hi.  Newbie here.  :)  My family will be taking the RV on a 3 or 4 day fishing trip at the end of the month.  We just moved to New Mexico from Arizona and don't really know where to (try) to camp at and are at a loss for good fishing as well.  My husband wants to fly fish and my girls and I (they are 11 and 13) like to fish with a rod and reel.  Does anyone have any suggestions for me?  I started to book a spot at a campground at Navajo Lake State Park, but there are so many to choose from and I just don't have the time to research like I usually do.  I need to book something yesterday.  :)  We would prefer to stay somewhere no more than 3 hours from Albuquerque.  Can anyone help?

hit the san juan river just below Navajo dam, look up Abes, it is in the top 10 destinations for trophy trout in the US.  I have fished dozens of times.  Suggest you do a float with guide first time, flys are small 22-26 excellent fishing you wont have any regrets

I agree that the San Juan at Navajo Dam is a great trout river. The state park has a campground at the Lake  and another below the dam along the river. It is a fairly wide river and in my experience not that easy to fish from the bank.

The Red River is a much smaller river and in many places can be walked across. In the Red River area (Taos, Questa, Red River, Eagles Nest) there are several trout rivers ranging from large like the Rio Grande to small like the Red River, Cimarron and Rio Hondo.