Solar power? Anyone have use it? Your opinion here...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

foneguy9

Hi all,
I was looking at solar power to charge up a bank of batteries for an RV.  I don't have one yet and am looking for a TT but I was wondering if this would be useful to cut down on electrical usage from a plug.  I found this site:
http://www.practicalmotorhome.com/product/jul04.html
and a few other sites that I googled under Solar Power for motorhome and wanted to ask your opinion...

Since I am a newbie, this may be a 'usual' question since no questions are dumb.  :D

I wouldn't mind speding the money on this if it will free me from the electrical cord!

We have 2 solar panels, 4 batteries (6-volt), and an interter. Are we saving money over the long run? Probably not once you amortize the cost of those goodies. But we don't have to listen to the generator run, we can pull over pretty much anywhere and have quiet power. And that makes me happy and if I'm happy, the rest of the household is happy.

;D  That's great!  To keep you happy that is, you need quiet! I love it!:)

I hadn't thought of that, but looking at a Honda generators EU series with 59 db, although quiet, a solar panel will be much more quiet!

Would I be able to use more batteries and more panels to supply the power of a a 15K A/C, Micro, lights and laptop power?  I know this is very general but I just am kicking around ideas for my setup.  Once I have more details on the electrical required I can dive more deeply into this question.  But any other life experience and application of Solar would be appreciated.

A/C No. But we just spent 4 days without hooking up to shore powerl. We ran TV, 2 laptops, printer, internet satellite, lights, water pump every night. And it was cloudy and rainy most of the time. And we never even came close to running out of juice.