Wierd Generator behavior...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bill and Debbie

I'm still pretty much a novice here but I have a question regarding my Onan 7000 generator. It seems to start and run fine. However, a few days ago I had it running in order to check the operation of the dual heaters as well as the duel A/C units.

Both heaters came on fine and blew warm...the front A/C compressor kicked on and while not terribly cold, it seemed acceptable. However, when I kicked on the rear A/C unit it lacked a bit of gusto and the generator began to run rough emitting some blackish smoke. I turned off the A/C unit and the gen continued to run rough for several minutes before clearing itself and running smoothly again.

Curious as to what was happening? And as clarification, only one unit was operating at the same time. Thanks.

Check to make sure the choke is fully opening. I've had an electric choke stick on an older onan before. Mine stuck earlier this year on my generac but they are completely different than an onan. On my onan the shaft was gummed up going thru the throat. Had to remove the electric coil and spray the shaft with carb cleaner.

92GA said:
Check to make sure the choke is fully opening. I've had an electric choke stick on an older onan before. Mine stuck earlier this year on my generac but they are completely different than an onan. On my onan the shaft was gummed up going thru the throat. Had to remove the electric coil and spray the shaft with carb cleaner.

Think the choke is fine as the gens starts and runs fine. Something was happening when the rear AC unit was turned on resulting in the generator "loading up" and apparently running rich. Not sure what the connection between the two is...hoping someone can shed some light.