12V Wire Brand OK?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jenny

Hi all,

I am planning on using 12 and 14 AWG wire for my 12V wiring.  Could anyone tell me if the Brand Southwire THHN is OK to use?  I found it at Lowes and the link is below.

http://www.zoro.com/i/G0209027/?utm_source=google_shopping&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=Google_Shopping_Feed&gclid=CJHr2dCgmMECFY8F7AodoQ4AdQ

Many many thanks-
Jenny

I am an industrial electrician by trade and have used Southwire brand wire for quite a few years. It is a reputable manufacturer, and you should have no problems with Southwire's quality.

Just in case you're wiring something that may have solar panels someday, you might want to consider 8 AWG for that portion of the wiring, simply to minimize resistance.

FWIW, THHN is normally used for higher voltage AC circuits. 120, 240 etc. 12 volt DC stranded wiring generally contains smaller individual strands, and more of them making it better suited for dc circuits. Can you use THHN stranded...yes, but it is not the best way to go, and because it is much stiffer, it is harder to work with.

As Dennis said, that is not the right type of wire. Southwire is a good brand, but you should not use solid wire for 12 volt wiring in a vehicle. And do not use wire nuts.

THHN comes both in solid and stranded versions in sizes smaller than 8 gauge. Most electricians that have used wire in commercial applications have probably used solid THHN far more than the stranded....it's cheaper..  ;). I'm sure that's most likely why Tom mentioned it.

Water Dog said:
THHN comes both in solid and stranded versions in sizes smaller than 8 gauge. Most electricians that have used wire in commercial applications have probably used solid THHN far more than the stranded....it's cheaper..  ;) . I'm sure that's most likely why Tom mentioned it.
Are you calling Tom S. a cheapskate? :)