Selling your photos

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mickey1

I have been a pro and a Armature photog. for a while and have never actually tried to sell my work.I always did it for myself or just to capture a moment. OR I did portrait or weddings etc... so I would work under someone and take photos for them. However I have a love of the landscape and more of the artsy fartsy type stuff and would like to know if there is a online source or a place to put your work up for it to be sold that actually gets looked at. I have heard Ebay but have not tried it as I wasn't real sure how they were doing it. are they selling just a copy? the neg? ( I don't give up my Negatives for nobody with out a big check) a file?

just things im thinking of supplementing my income while doing the full time thing. Would like to share some of the experiences I have with family etc.. however if I can sell it to help pay for this adventure it would be nice. 

any suggestions would be nice.

I know some mags. will look for photos of like flowers or RV life or ????? to print. but how do you know who and what they are looking for?

I sell my photographs in 3 locations - I have a SmugMug account and I also have a Fine Art America account and the third way is by utilizing those two services among my friends on Facebook and other social media...not setting the world on fire, but do manage some decent sales from time to time...it is time consuming and you must market yourself to generate web traffic and ultimately sales.

I also build web sites and generate more income that way and utilize my photographic skills and sell my service as a package.

There are links on my website to drive people to my SmugMug site and my Fine Art America site.

I have not found a good "Stock Photography" site that generates any steady revenue...so I avoid that.

Good Luck -

Jim