"Wide World" trailer (not 5th wheel)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rayrenee

Need ifo...
I am TOTALLY new to the "RV" world so "bare" with me for my ignorance...

I have been offered a trailer that only has "Wide World" printed on the side of it.
Colors are white and a peach (pinkish?).
It looks like a late 70's early 80's trailer.
The only door is on the right side and it has 4 total wheels below it.
It gets towed behind a truck off of a hitch.
Looks like it has a stove and bathroom etc.
2 propane cylinders up by the hitch.

It needs work on the inside and the outside needs some TLC but it looks do-able.
I will talk to the owner later this week but I am trying to recon what info I can before I talk to him.

(I believe I will be getting this for free so cost would only be fixing it up)
Thanks,
RW3

Well, I hope you are prepared for a lot of work and expense. Parts for RVs aren't cheap and if you end up replacing big ticket items like a fridge your "free" trailer may not be a bargain.

You had better figure on a set of tires too, no matter how good they may look. If the are more than about 5-6 years old, they aren't worth trying to drive on if the trailer has been sitting around unused and undriven.

I'd say your first chore is to assess what needs doing on this prize and then see if you want to repair it or simply put your money into a decent used model.  There are an awful lot of older Rvs on the market and prices are usually quite low.

I have to second the above response.
We have an 84 Avion, a real beauty. We've had it 5 years, and lived in it for 6 months straight when we sold our house, waiting to close on the new one.
We also use it for the winter to travel in every year, and for a month in September during Elk season.