transporting a firearm

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I like Frizie's idea. Leave the weapon in the RV and rent a car for the day.

I look at carrying a weapon like a seat belt. You might drive around without a seat belt and never have a accident in your entire life. Or... You might drive round without it and have accident and wish your wearing your seat belt. Just like carrying a weapon you might carry a weapon for years and nothing happen but the day you relax and leave it at home you'd wish you didn't. Out here you worry about the four leggers more that the two leggers till you get to the bigger cities then you watch the two leggers.

cgmartin said:
...I retired from a local law enforcement agency in California, and as a honorably retired officer, I qualify for the basic CCW permit, which is only good in California. It is not honored anywhere elsei unless I have a special endorsement, which is separate from the CCW itself. I let the endorsement lapse, so now I am only good in California...

HR218 or "LEOSA" allows active duty and qualified retired LEO's to carry concealed in any state, no permit necessary.  Individual state laws can still regulate prohibited zones such as government buildings, schools, liquor stores, bars, and so on.  But in any area where an individual with a resident CHL/CCW can carry, so can you.

It's quite sad about the 2yr old that shot his mother with her concealed gun in Walmart.  I don't care if you carry or not, but please make sure no else can get at your gun.

kjansen said:
It's quite sad about the 2yr old that shot his mother with her concealed gun in Walmart.  I don't care if you carry or not, but please make sure no else can get at your gun.

The mother was totally negligent in this case. It is so sad for something that was preventable real easy.

I normally carry double safe.

1. Nothing in the chamber.