I pulled the plug on CIS

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Jim,

Jim Dick said:
I've been using Verizon's Express Net for a couple of years now. It sure is slick when you need access on the road. In fact, I'm on it right now!!!

I'll be doing the same using Verizon's ExpressNet 1XRTT once we leave home base here in Yuma.  I'll sure hate to lose my DSL line but definitely the Verizon 1XRTT connection is a whale of a lot better than dial-up. ;D

Bernie:

The Verizon stuff looks good.  I phoned them and verified that I have the "National Enhanced Service Access."  I've had the connectivity kit for years through three phones.  This phone does everything I need.  I've printed the instructions.  The only thing I might have is slightly old software, but I imagine access is access, and it won't need updating.  I'll experiment with the connection tomorrow.  I had to open a Yahoo email account to get the instruction file, so now I even have free email.  Don't know if Yahoo is desirable, but I have some options. 

Verizon's signal here in Mesa is pretty bad, but in Oregon their tower is right on the hill across from the RV park.  I can see the blinking red light at night. 

I also have wireless and wired networking available on my computer, but the campground in OR doesn't have it, and the RV park here has only a limited range.  Don't want to pack up the computer and haul it down outside the computer room all the time. 

Anyway, thanks for the info.  Now to see if I get it all to work.

--pat

Pat

I don't have Verizon myself so can't be too specific. You may need to download the latest appropriate driver for your laptop to get the most out of the phone. Once again, info should be in the tutorial.

Don,

I've been very happy with Verizon's Express Net. I'd rather use it than dial up but can't see paying the rate for unlimited service. :)