->Opinion on Solar panels and Composting toilet <-

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
    What is your opinion on equipping your RV with solar panels and/or a composting toilet ? Why or why not ?

We've got a fairly large solar setup that's capable of meeting our power needs without having to run the generator (as long as there's adequate sunlight). We chose to go solar, because we do a fair amount of boondocking in Southern California and Arizona where there's usually lots of sun and I'm not a fan of listening to my generator. However, if we didn't boondock very often or didn't usually camp where there was lots of sun, it probably wouldn't have been a very wise investment.

Our motorhome has good grey, black and fresh-water capacities so I've never really explored the composte toilet idea. Seems a bit cumbersome to me but I'm no expert on them.

Kev 

Kevin Means said:
We've got a fairly large solar setup that's capable of meeting our power needs without having to run the generator (as long as there's adequate sunlight). We chose to go solar, because we do a fair amount of boondocking in Southern California and Arizona where there's usually lots of sun and I'm not a fan of listening to my generator. However, if we didn't boondock very often or didn't usually camp where there was lots of sun, it probably wouldn't have been a very wise investment.

Our motorhome has good grey, black and fresh-water capacities so I've never really explored the composte toilet idea. Seems a bit cumbersome to me but I'm no expert on them.

Kev

That's what I was thinking, it would make a lot of sense for a person doing a lot of boondocking and such. What is you setup like ? How many batteries do you have?

Would there be anyway to take out the waste tank if you had a composting toilet and use the space to connect more deep cycle batteries for a solar set up ?