Liquid Roof EPDM VS. White on black EPDM sheet product

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

arch7

Got a 1999 35' Jayco Eagle wants a new roof. Existing membrane has delaminated from the wood deck in several areas and a few leaks developed.

Liquid Roof total cost - $881.2 for material (from EPDM coatings advertised on this website) includes the tape, the mixer, the primer for the wood deck etc.

Sheet roofing from flatroofsolutions.com 60mil white on black EPDM rubber sheet $839 for all material including the glue, butyl tape, fabric etc and even an instructional DVD.

So the sheet product is actually cheaper. I'm an architect and would never specify a liquid applied roofing product on any of the commercial buildings I design. The best is the single ply membrane fully adhered over a gypsum fiber cover board. But I see new products coming on the market all the time, in carpeting, tile, metal siding and so on and I do put my faith in these new products and their claims. I mean I'm a fan of technology. AeroGel in KalWall panels for instance (try it on your RV!)

Interesting thing is both carry a 10 year warranty.

The main difference I see is hail damage sensitivity and ease of installation.

With the membrane I have to remove all roof curbs and penetrations, ac unit etc. With the liquid stuff I can keep them on and just paste over and around the curbs. Although a taller curb would be a great idea (raise your vents further up off the roof for snow depending on where you are).

So not sure which product to buy. Thoughts, experiences and recommendations much appreciated. Thanks!!

I would go with replacing vs coating. You stated the existing has lost it's bond and has leaked. The only way to assess the damage below is to remove the existing to see if any structure below needs attention. When you install the new, if you do, let Eternabond be your friend.