Buying a Journey DL 34HD

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

casualemt

Hi All, a newbie here... My wife and I are buying a 2002 Winnebago Journey DL 34HD.  We have looked at a lot of class A's, and we really like the interior layout, and convience features of the Journey.  I am happy it has the freightliner chassis with the higher horsepower 330 Cat.  The mileage is at 28K, and the interior looks like no one ever used it. In a couple of days we are going to do the final inspections, check out all the maintenance records, and take it for a long test drive.  It has just been to the freightliner dealer near by and had the running gear all checked out.  My question is, what things specific to this model, or this range of models should I pay particular attention to?
I have spent a lot of time on the internet researching many other manufacturers motorhomes, most of which the companies are out of business.  It has been a pleasure to at least be able to get a ton of information from the Winnebago website on this particular model.
Any feedback on problems, shortcomings of the Journey DL 34 would be appreciated.

First Welcome to the Forum.

We went thru the process you're currently going through - 'Looking for the perfect coach for us' - back in early 2014 and after looking and researching a lot of different brands and models we found a clean 2006 Journey 34H and purchased it.

The 34H was an ideal layout for the two of us and the right size for us. We have been very happy with our 34H.

The only real problem I had come across was issues with the front windows leaking. This is not a Journey specific problem but with all the Winnebago's with the split front window design. It seemed to be a design problem in how the window was sealed in the frame. So look for any signs of water or rust chips on the dash along the window.