With water and electric hook-up, how do you handle sewer needs?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vito55

Just getting into RV'ing and awaiting our travel trailer. I notice that many (maybe most?) campground sites have electric and water hook-ups, but not a sewer line. With relatively small gray and black water holding tanks, how do you handle sewer dumping? I guess if we primarily use the toilets and showers in the campgrounds this wouldn't be a big issue, but if we use the shower and toilet in the trailer, does this mean daily or every other day pulling the trailer out and taking it to wherever you can dump the liquids? As I said, I am new to all of this and keep thinking about things that I know nothing about.

I have been faced with this situation a number of times and by using the park facilities for shower etc. I can minimize my tank emptying....but I am only one person so I can really cut down. I can easily go a month or more on the black tank and typically a few weeks on the grey....

I have at times - hooked a small garden hose to my dump cap and led it into the bushes and emptied my gray tank, but only because I was certain it was only dishwater....and clean.

You will learn to use a minimal amount of water and therefore minimal amount in the tanks.

Good Luck,

Jim

Without a sewer hookup, you practice water conservation to minimize the trips to the dump station.  Some campgrounds will have a pump out service for a small fee, we've paid $10 typically.

I cannot speak for all, only for myself,  but I have only encountered one park that did not have a sewer setup
in 11 years of camping.  I would hazard the statement that campgrounds with water and elec. but without sewer hookup would be the exception not the rule.  IMHO.  That and a $1.50 gets you a cup of coffee.