2015 2500 ram 6.7l diesel and 27ft fiver

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

munkey

i have a 2015 2500 hd 6.7l turbo diesel cummins 4x4 truck and also have a 27ft 5th wheel trail that I will be picking up in couple days I am very new to towing and wanted to know if this truck is going to pull my fifth wheel with a gvwr of 11,750 with out issues, should I get the air ride put in or any extra's to help. Also we will be using this truck to go to Alberta with in about 3years to go full time rv ing.

You need to confirm all the numbers - there are many threads on here that explain how to calculate, is the 11K number dry weight if so you need to find out the loaded weight.

I would suspect you will be fine - read the door post on your truck and the tag on the left corner of the RV....

Good Luck,

Jim

is the 11K number dry weight if so you need to find out the loaded weight.

going to pull my fifth wheel with a gvwr of 11,750
emphasis mine...

Munkey, that sounds pretty good if, as I suspect, the tow rating for your truck is at least 10% (preferably 20%) higher than that (allow for mountains, altitude unless turbo'ed,  extra loading in truck, etc.)

Once loaded and scaled you will be right at your limits.  Will it tow OK?  Sure.  The Cummins has gobs of power.  Will you be happy with the way it handles?  Maybe, maybe not!  Your going to have to load everything up and go camping to decide if it is comfortable for you or not.

The dry weight of the trailer is 8,000 pounds I am unsure about the ratings on the truck but when I get home Thursday I will post those numbers  as well I have been told I have well enough truck for my trail but wanted to join here and see the info I get from more experienced RVER's, plus is also nice to maybe get insight to what I have to look forward to in my future indevors.