Turbocharged 6-71 Detroit Diesel Engine

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gingercat

There is 1963 converted bus that I really want. Has a Turbocharged 6-71 (six cylinder) Detroit Diesel Engine. I'm new to all of this. I'd like to know if anyone knows about this engine. What's its reputation. The bus is very nice, already has solar and has a ton of space. But I don't want to buy a money pit. Opinions? A few friends of mine who have never owned anything like this really think its a bad idea. But dang, its pretty. They are asking $17,500. I want to be able to drive around the country, slowly, stopping for 14 weeks at a time to work, then move to the next place.

I would start my search for information here.  http://busnut.com/home.html

Also, this couple has a bus and I believe a Detroit Diesel 6-71 that they had to have rebuilt last year.  They may be able to provide some information.  http://www.technomadia.com/blog/

Hope this helps.

Paul

The 6/71 is a fine engine. I have rebuilt many back in the day. If you are thinking of buying this I would recommend getting a Detroit mechanic to remove the airbox covers and check the kits. That is an old 2 cycle engine and is easy to rebuild. Because of the age take a real good look at the intake make sure it is tight and in good condition.
But do get a good Detroit diesel mechanic to do a condition report. And while he is at it have him explain the dos and dont's with those old engines. It might be the best money you will ever spend. The inspection that is.
Good luck!

The 6-71 has been around for many many years and has proven itself over and over. It came into use in 1938. The older the mechanic you can find to work on it the better.